It’s official. After more than 15 years of adjunct teaching at places like MIT, NYU, School of Visual Arts, and Parsons School of Design, I am leaving my life as an academic floozy and finally settling down with just one program. Starting this fall, I will be an official professor at the NYU Game Center, a new interdisciplinary center run by my longtime friend and colleague Frank Lantz. Other faculty include Jesper Juul, Katherine Isbister, and Charles Pratt. Over the last year, the Game Center has built an impressive game library, hosted a spectacular lecture series, and put on a number of events – from a game art exhibition to arcade game tournaments. Several classes are offered and a Masters program in game design is in the works. It’s a great place to be and I’m super-psyched to be part of this evolving project.

Just in case it seems I’m hanging up my game dev hat, rest assured I won’t be leaving the world of making games anytime soon. I am currently working with Curious Pictures, Fresh Planet, and Pentagram Design on commercial games, and I’m gluttonously overscheduling my time with independent projects, from physical games with architect Nathalie Pozzi to Local No.12’s Twitter games to my recent film with David Kaplan.

You can read the official press release about my new position at NYU here.